Learn About Me

I was born in Waterbury, Connecticut. My mother was young when she had me so we lived  in my grandparents house until I was in 5th or 6th grade. I am an only child, but I felt like aunt and uncles were more like siblings to me. When we moved out, it was literally across the street. I have always been a family oriented person.

I graduated from CCSU with a BA in social work and a minor in sociology. I spent my internships focusing on working in prisons. When I graduated, I started working with children in a program called IICAPS (intense in-home child and adolescent psychiatric services). I then began working for the state of Connecticut’s child protective service as a social worker and investigator.

I never was the type of person to let lose. I was a full-time student, worked part time, was an RA in my dorm, and interned. I did not drink in high school or college. I was in a five year relationship, and spent my free time with my family. I graduated and got an intense 8-5 job with lots of overtime.

Once my aunt passed away, I realized I wasn’t living my life the way I wanted to. I decided to be single, find myself, and quit my job. Some people thought I was insane. Maybe I was, but that decision brought me to places I would never expect. I live my life much more now than I have ever dreamed of.

I started this blog because I miss talking to people like I did when I was doing social work. So I hope you enjoy my writing. Please feel free to contact me and give me ideas of things you would like to hear about.

Carissa